Low-power pioneer to receive 2019 Kaufman Award

By Chris Edwards |  No Comments  |  Posted: October 1, 2019
Topics/Categories: Blog - EDA  |  Tags: , ,  | Organizations: ,

Dr Mary Jane Irwin of Penn State University has been named as the first female recipient of the Phil Kaufman Award for distinguished contributions to electronic system design.

Dr Irwin is the Evan Pugh Professor and A. Robert Noll Chair Emeritus in Engineering at the university’s Department of Computer Science and Engineering. She is being honored particularly for her work in low-power design and as a mentor to students.

“Dr Irwin has had a tremendous impact on education, particularly VLSI systems design, computer arithmetic, EDA and low-power computer architecture,” said Dr David Atienza, president of IEEE-CEDA and professor of Electrical Engineering at EPFL. “Her course materials and textbooks have been used around the world to train numerous electrical and computer engineers who have become leaders in key IC and EDA companies such as Intel, AMD, Cadence and Mentor.”

Dr Mary Jane Irwin is the first female honoree under the prestigious EDA scheme

Image Dr Mary Jane Irwin is the first female honoree under the prestigious EDA scheme

Dr Irwin will receive the award at a ceremony and dinner to be held on Thursday, November 7 at The GlassHouse in San Jose, Calif. Registration information will be available soon.
The Kaufman Award is presented annually by the Electronic System Design Alliance and the IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation.

Comments are closed.


Synopsys Cadence Design Systems Siemens EDA
View All Sponsors